Golfers travel to Shocker Invitational in Wichita

THIS WEEK: The Air Force golf team travels Wichita, Kansas, for the Grier Jones Shocker Invitational, Monday-Tuesday, Oct. 10-11, at the Crestview Country Club. Live stats will be available at The Country Club is a par 71 and plays at 6,928 yards. The teams will play 36 holes on Monday and 18 on Tuesday in a shotgun start beginning at 8:30 am CT each day.

THE FIELD: In addition to the host school Wichita State, and Air Force, the field includes: Drake, Hutchinson, Indian Hills, Missouri State, Northern Iowa, Omaha, South Dakota and Utah Valley.

THE LINEUP: The Air Force lineup this week at the Shocker Invitational is: 1. Cameron Kahle; 2. Christopher Park; 3. Alvaro Fonseca; 4. Brooks Morrell; 5. Christopher Ehrenberger; Ind. – Ted Davenport.

ABOUT THE COURSE: The Crestview Country Club is a 36-hole championship golf course designed by world-renowned architect Robert Trent Jones. Crestview Country Club is the host the Wichita Open each year. One of four original Tour events still played, this tournament is part of the Korn Ferry Tour. This annual event welcomes over 50,000 spectators. 

INSIDE THE NUMBERS: Four golfers have played all nine rounds this season. Freshman Alvaro Fonseca leads the way with a season stroke average of 75.89. Sophomore Cameron Kahle is second, senior Isaac Layne is third and freshman Brooks Morrell is fourth.

LAST WEEK:  Air Force was the top service academy at the inaugural Folds of Honor Collegiate tournament, Sept. 26-28, at the American Dunes Golf Club in Grand Haven, Mich. Air Force shot its best round of the tournament on the final day with a 306. The Falcons finished in 12th-place at 930. Navy was 13th at 931 and Army was 16th at 943. Senior Isaac Layne led the Falcons on the final day. Starting on the back, Layne birdied his first two holes en route to a 73 (+1) on the day for his best round of the tournament. Sophomore Cameron Kahle also shot his best round of the tournament with a 74 (+2) on the final day. Freshman Alvaro Fonseca shot 77, freshman Brooks Morrell shot 82 and sophomore Max Heupel shot 85. Illinois, ranked 11th in the nation, won the 18-team tournament with an 854 (-10). Arizona was second (869), Florida State was third (874) and Oregon State was fourth (877).